The sound of turning around

Posted on

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline
National Suicide Prevention Lifeline (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I found this on the web and really loved it

Joy Turns to Pain When You Flip Over These Clever Suicide-Prevention Ads Real message is upside down

By  David Gianatasio

Publicis’s poignant print ads for suicide-prevention group Samaritans of Singapore use ambigrams to give upbeat messages negative meanings when viewed upside down. “I’m fine” becomes “Save me,” “Life is great” morphs into “I hate myself” and “I feel fantastic” reads “I’m falling apart.” The tagline, “The signs are there if you read them. Help us save a life before it’s too late,” is also printed upside down. The campaign does a fine job of depicting the subtle, often hidden nature of depression and anxiety disorders. It’s novel for the category, taking an approach that’s clever enough to generate broad coverage, extending the message far beyond its original market. Perhaps those reading about this work will question declarations of happiness from friends and family members that don’t quite ring true. The writing may be on the wall, but sometimes you’ve got to look at things in a different way to avert disaster.

samaritans-hed-2013 (1)
I feel fantastic or I`m falling apart
Samaritans-2
“Life is great” or “I hate myself”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Samaritans-3
“I`m fine” or “save me

Related articles

3 thoughts on “The sound of turning around

    NZFiend said:
    July 7, 2013 at 09:45

    Thanks for posting this MIRRORGIRL. Boy does this post suit your username. I may just try and make one of these for you one day. That will be the first day I stay at home willingly in two years. Please give a label to that disorder so I know what to ask for at the chemist…..

    Carrie Lange said:
    July 10, 2013 at 18:45

    it is so true! So often people say they are fine when the are completely losing it.

    blueribbonfair said:
    July 15, 2013 at 22:20

    I mirror this today. thanks for following my blog. I really appreciate it and love your insight and posts.

Your thoughts matter:

