The sound of the nut-eater

Posted on Updated on

The room is warmed up by summer air. I have one foot outside the duvet, and wake up to a voice next to me.

“Oh no”
I turn
“What is it?”
“My shoulder hurts”. I pat it carefully and say softly:
“You will dream that it gets better”. He falls asleep.

A little later:
“I had a dream”
I smile, prepared for it.
“There was a man, who wanted to eat all the nuts you had!”
“I tried to stop him, but he was very determined, and I could only save half of them”. In my head, I have already made a mental picture of this stubborn man, eating the nuts in a hurry, not letting himself be stopped by any intervention. My picture is silenced by the last detail of the dream:
” He even drank my juice!”
He shakes his head in disbelief, and I squeeze his hand.

We drift into sleep again.

When I come down, my cashew nuts are truly much fewer in number than yesterday.

image

One thought on “The sound of the nut-eater

    brokenbutbeingrepaired said:
    July 24, 2013 at 21:25

    Just… 🙂

Your thoughts matter:

