The sound of “Sweet Potato”

Posted on Updated on

sweet potato fries
sweet potato fries (Photo credit: satakieli)

One of the interests I have had my whole life, is music. Maybe I dear publish something I made myself, one day? For now, this is one of the songs I am very fond of, both the melody and the lyrics appeal to me. Hope you enjoy it as much as I have. 

Sia- Sweet Potato

She cooks you sweet potato, you don’t like aubergine
She knows to boil the kettle when you hum bars from Grease
She senses you are lonely but still she can’t be sure
And so she stands and waits, stands anticipating your thoughts

How can she become the psychic that she longs to be to understand you
How can she become the psychic that she longs to be to understand you

He brushes thoroughly
He know she likes fresh breath
He rushes to the station
He waits atop the steps
He’s brought with him a Mars bar
She will not buy Nestle
And later he’ll perform
A love-lorn serenade, a trade

How can he become the psychic that he longs to be to understand you
How can he become the psychic that he longs to be to understand you

So give her information to help her fill the holes
Give an ounce of power so he does not feel controlled
Help her to acknowledge the pain that you are in
Give to him a glimpse of that beneath your skin

Now my inner dialogue is heaving with detest
I am a martyr and a victim and I need to be caressed
I hate that you negate me, I’m a ghost at beck and call
I’m failing and placating, I berate myself for staying

I’m a fool
I’m a fool

He greets the stranger meekly, a thing that she accepts
She sees him waiting often with chocolate on the steps
He senses she is lonely, she’s glad they finally met
They take each other’s hands, walk into the sunset

Do you like sweet potato?

20 thoughts on “The sound of “Sweet Potato”

    awax1217 said:
    August 4, 2013 at 21:33

    i love the Beatles song “Norwegian Wood”. This is kind of the 60 ish. It is okay but I am into a little more jazz and some classical.

    lexborgia said:
    August 4, 2013 at 21:47

    This is so bad that it’s good, MG. I can’t watch your Video(it’s blocked in Germany), so I’m listening to a live Performance @Thekla Bristol UK Dec.7. She does a ‘feel good’ performance. If you’re going to write stuff like this…don’t give up your day Job. But now I think I understand you a Little bit more. This is the Kind of stuff I write: http://lexborgia.wordpress.com/category/risa/in-da-club/

      mirrorgirl responded:
      August 5, 2013 at 03:54

      I will never give up my day work, and will still love emotional and naive stuff .Not for everyone, I guess, but that’s fine by me:)

        lexborgia said:
        August 5, 2013 at 13:55

        I was only poking fun at you; ‘don’t give up your day job’ is a very playful phrase, perfect for teasing. I listened to several of her tracks last night – I like them. Thanks for recommending. Cheers.

        mirrorgirl responded:
        August 5, 2013 at 14:10

        Ah, my English is not advanced enough for that kind of humor;) sad though, sometimes I have a harder time than I like, understanding points in posts I otherwise like. Not enough time (would be nice to do everything at once) to dive into the complexity that the English language provides (shame) are you a native speaker ?

    the smoking section said:
    August 5, 2013 at 09:13

    Unlike ironing the wrinkle releaser will simply reduce wrinkles not eliminate them.
    A vaporizer helps save a lot on other substances,
    since you need to use it really small amount. Herbal vaporizer is a treatment
    technique that actually works so well that eliminates the
    cravings.

    stop panic attack said:
    August 5, 2013 at 10:32

    Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you writing this write-up
    plus the rest of the website is extremely good.

      mirrorgirl responded:
      August 5, 2013 at 11:56

      Thank you. I see you have an alias called “panic attacks”. That is a theme I know far too little about!

    lexborgia said:
    August 5, 2013 at 14:30

    Yes, English is my native language. Can I have the money now?<<<laugh here.
    When you said last night, "send whatever you like Sweets,' did you want me to send you Sweets! Or do you want to send me Sweets!! Complicated funny. And by the btw, 'Panic attacks' is a theme that I'm very familiar with, I have no desire to blog about it, but I experience them all the time. Terrible thing to have, very difficult to talk to discuss with anyone(I'm terrified of psychologists / closed rooms/ Offices, crowds etc). Not you.

      mirrorgirl responded:
      August 5, 2013 at 15:06

      I can send you money to buy sweets! Shame about the avoidance of psychologists, some of them are awfully nice (many of my friends are, at least). Can understand the fear, though, I didn`t know anything about psychologists before I became one myself, and my surprise at how many wonderful, brilliant people came to me with issues I could have had myself (and sometimes even have had) was probably as real, as their surprise when they discovered how very “human” I am, dropping things clumsily all the time, misunderstanding others ever so often (no, we can`t read thoughts, but we are very curious about what motivates behavior) and so on:) Btw, interesting discussion, maybe I can learn more english from you 😀 (you can teach me when it is appropriate to laugh, and not:P)

        lexborgia said:
        August 5, 2013 at 20:14

        MG, you’re to kind, and your Punch-line is doing just fine, give it time. Check this guy out sometimes, he’s sure to make you laugh, I promise you. Excellent ‘word play’ also. http://chucklesandlaughs.wordpress.com/2013/08/04/sign-of-the-times-3-how-was-i-born/

        mirrorgirl responded:
        August 5, 2013 at 20:43

        I love language humor 😀

        mirrorgirl responded:
        August 6, 2013 at 20:25

        Read it , thought it was a bit funny! I must give the link to one of the funniest word-videos I know about!http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s-mOy8VUEBk
        Might as well post it in another post:D

        lexborgia said:
        August 6, 2013 at 20:33

        I’m watching it now. It’s really funny. How can you forget the word for ‘hello!’ I know one scandanavian program, really funny – The Olsen Gang!!! They’re always trying to do the big Job. Danish, I believe. Don’t know any Norwegian funny People; guess they aren’t any(lol).

        mirrorgirl responded:
        August 6, 2013 at 20:36

        Those in the video are actually norwegian, so they are really funny, I think:D we also have one guy called “truls” you interview famous people. He pretends he talks really bad english
        :http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2C5FH3SyQ3w

        lexborgia said:
        August 6, 2013 at 20:48

        ‘please help us, if nothing is done the Danish community will collapse..I want to direct an Appeal to the United Nations.’ This is hilarious lung splitting stuff, thank you. Kamelaosao -spiessnaegel!!-Kamalaosao. Excellent.

        mirrorgirl responded:
        August 6, 2013 at 20:56

        Hihihihi. The milk man is happy 😀

    The sound of tennis court | Mirrorgirl said:
    October 12, 2013 at 20:22

    […] The sound of “Sweet Potato” […]

    youtube.com said:
    November 25, 2013 at 07:04

    You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be actually
    something which I think I would never understand. It seems too
    complicated and very broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

    youtube.com said:
    November 27, 2013 at 13:18

    Hello there! This post couldn’t be written any better!
    Looking at this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He continually kept preaching about this. I’ll send this post to him.
    Fairly certain he’ll have a great read. Many thanks for sharing!

Your thoughts matter:

