The sound of care

Posted on

Empathy Is Necessary for a Good Life

This entry was posted on June 16, 2012, in EthicsMoralitysocial commentary and tagged. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments

“Suffering and joy teach us, if we allow them, how to make the leap of empathy, which transports us into the soul and heart of another person. In those transparent moments we know other people’s joys and sorrows, and we care about their concerns as if they were our own,” explains Fritz Williams, Leader Emeritus of the Baltimore Ethical Society.

she saved over hundred children, because she could not watch them being tortured during world war 2
she saved over hundred children, because she could not watch them being tortured during world war two

Infants respond to the cries of other infants; toddlers are upset when they see another in distress. Young children try to soothe others who are hurt and adults wince when they see another injured. This ability to identify with the inner life of another begins at the dawn of self-awakening.

How lovely to find satisfaction in that which others have enjoyed. This ability to find happiness in another’s joy is a wonderful trait. And to taste another’s tears is crucial for the alleviation of suffering and the move towards social justice.

Empathy is essential for living well. It frees us from the bonds of isolation and, therefore, exaggerated fear. We know that we aren’t alone, that we are intimately bound to the fate of others and they with us. To participate in the pleasures and sorrows of someone we love is to know one of life’s great satisfactions. To imagine the misfortunes of those we don’t know personally is the basis of social justice.

Here is one of my favorite stories about empathy. It comes from Mark Salzburg’s Iron and Silk, his account of being a teacher in China. He gave this assignment to his students: write an essay about the happiest moment of your life. One student composed a rhapsody about eatingPeking duck while visiting the capital city.

“It was like clouds disappearing,” he wrote.

The teacher gave the student great praise, but after class the student came with a confession. He said that he had never been to the capital and he had never had Peking duck. But his wife had gone and she described the delicacy to him.

“She tells me about it again and again,” he said, “and I think, even though I was not there, it is my happiest moment.”

So here is a good question for meditation: What moves you to feel with another person?

4 thoughts on “The sound of care

    awax1217 said:
    August 25, 2013 at 19:11

    I think sometimes I lie on a dime rather than face the truth. I wonder if I see things when they are not there. I wrote about one example today called Fire. I have had many thoughts if the events that occurred were coincidences or a plan of my dad that is purely evil. Give it a fast read and let me know what you think. Of course this happened a long time ago. But the poison is still somewhere in my mind, did my dad know, or was it something else?

      mirrorgirl responded:
      August 26, 2013 at 05:27

      I will look into it:) thank you for sharing 🙂

    David said:
    August 25, 2013 at 22:40

    When someone breaks, I break? Is that empathy or fragility? Probably more of the former, some of the latter.

      mirrorgirl responded:
      August 26, 2013 at 05:28

      I think it can be both, with me it makes me “stronger” in that I must be strong to help them:)

Your thoughts matter:

