Test your ability to read emotions

Posted on Updated on

<:header id=masthead>

<:article id=post-96430 sizset=”0″ sizcache=”9″><:header>

The Well Quiz <:time title=”October 3, 2013, 2:14 pm” datetime=”2013-10-03T18:14:27+00:00″>October 3, 2013, 2:14 pm <!– — Updated: 5:08 pm –>202 Comments

Can You Read People’s Emotions?

By THE NEW YORK TIMES
iStock

Are you tuned in to the emotions of others? Or have you been accused of being insensitive?

If you are among those people who are mystified by moods, new research offers hope. A new study shows that certain types of reading can actually help us improve our sensitivity IQ. To find out how well you read the emotions of others, take the Well quiz, which is based on an assessment tool developed by University of Cambridge professor Simon Baron-Cohen.

For each photo, choose the word that best describes what you think the person depicted is thinking or feeling.

 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

I got 28/36, so there is really room for improvement. How did your test go?

 
 
6 thoughts on “Test your ability to read emotions

    David said:
    October 9, 2013 at 21:43

    30! Woohoo! Still, the stuff I got wrong? It had an embarrassing pattern which suggests that I’ve been more appreciated than I thought. I guess I’ve been beating myself up for nothing!

    NIKOtheOrb said:
    October 9, 2013 at 22:30

    I’ve seen this quiz before. They also give this quiz to test if people are autistic or even schizoaffective/schizophrenic, because people with autism or people who are experiencing a schizoaffective/schizophrenic episode cannot read emotions in people’s eyes.

      mirrorgirl responded:
      October 10, 2013 at 19:10

      I did not know that (I would think it about autism, but not schizophrenia).
      No wonder the world can be even more confusing than it has to be!

    annarosemeeds said:
    October 10, 2013 at 02:30

    I was surprised at how well I did. However, my first inclination was often wrong. Usually I struggle to read people. It takes me a little while to read them. Aspergers stinks sometimes.

      mirrorgirl responded:
      October 10, 2013 at 19:11

      Can understand that feeling, it is not something you chosen yourself. The world is not fair, and we only do what we can to make the best of it. Glad you got surprised 😀

    Techman said:
    October 13, 2013 at 06:02

    Interesting! Scored 21/30 Btw I guess many, like 10 for the words meaning, English being not my native language. Thanks for sharing this.

Your thoughts matter:

