The sound of turning pages

Posted on Updated on

I am listening to the “invisible man” by Wells, one of some classics I have been reading lately. It took far too long before I started on the classical road . I covered my lack of understanding with convictions: Classics were boring and unnecessary. I don`t know if I shall start criticize the school-system or myself for never checking if this was true (but I thought I had, since the few things I had checked out, were on Danish, hard to read and impossible for my undeveloped brain to understand)

I might have gone through my life without harvesting the fruit of beautiful language and stories. But luckily, I have these sudden things I have to do, and it feels like I’ve found a secret ladder up to magic heaven. It leads to territories were I can hand-pick new thoughts and integrate new ideas with old ones. This mental fruit energizes childish glee that let’s me fly again.

20131115-081557.jpg

I will try to explore some of the thoughts I`ve had after walking the classical road in later posts, and will start here with exploring the subject of living a truthful life. Already at the university I soaked my curiosity in the question.
Behind the walls of cleverness we analyzes the importance of ethics and morality. Knowledge finally started to seep into my wisdom-deprived brain. Since then the importance of being true to one’s intelligence, knowledge, morality and personality have grown in seize. My role as a psychologist pinpoint that I shouldn`t preach what I dont`t practice. That`s why I work really hard to become more of the person I want to be, which means controlling emotions that don`t serve me, in addition to applauding thoughts that will be good for me AND others.

Classics I’ve read that revolve around this theme are: Anna Karenina, one norwegian book about men who rape their daug


I have also been moved by blog entries I`ve read. Many write remarkable stories, and I love the fact that it’s actually possible to interact with the authors. When I read magnificent stories written by authors 100 years ago, I’ll never get the chance to say how much I appreciated their work. Today, I can and it seasons my glee until it grows into a sofisticated feeling that warms me and make me happy. I’m happy for all who make an effort so that we are allowed to be true to ourselves.

Some of my favorite classics so far: The invisible man by H.G Wells, the autobiography of Benjamin Frankling and “the stranger in the mirror” by M. Steinberg.

 

2 thoughts on “The sound of turning pages

    awax1217 said:
    November 15, 2013 at 12:10

    I am afraid we all put up a face to others and assume roles. Instead of being invisible we shine a light on what we are not. For example I was a teacher for many years and that means I was a disciplinarian in the classroom. I had a face that conveyed my displeasure at an act that I did not condone. It was an act. But I used it. I have gestures and voice mannerism that indicate I was Italian and the students assumed I had Mafia connections. I allowed them that thought. When asked certain questions I answered what was PC and not what I thought. Many times my answer was silence. I never wanted the students to become mini mes. So invisible can mean not invisible.

    Everyday Power said:
    November 15, 2013 at 18:14

    Very interesting! Great points! I enjoyed reading this!

Your thoughts matter:

