The sound of her voice

Posted on Updated on

maria mena
maria mena

2013-11-15 21.33.14 2013-11-15 21.36.15 2013-11-15 21.15.51 2013-11-15 21.15.54

  • She stands on the stage and sings like there’s no tomorrow. Her mouth opens out comes her heart. I see her standing on the stage, draped in yellow, green or orange lights. She is the queen of assurance as she sings about overcoming challenges. Her soft voice sings that it will be okay. She’s been there, but she’s happy today. She faced her fears. She sings: “If I could go back, I’d tell her not to worry. I’d tell her everything will be all right. I would tell her what she didn`t know then:  When you want something, the universe WILL do everything it can to make your wish come true”.
  • It was a great concert, and even greater: I got to meet her! My sister and friend didn`t want to wait after the concert, but I did, together with two other girls from Sweden. I felt a bit like a stalker fan, but I didn`t care. I know it would be worth it, since I truly AM a fan, and I wanted to say that to her. My persistence bore fruits: An hour after the concert, me and around 7 other girls, were allowed to meet her. I was actually silent most of the time. I let the others talk and listened to her answers in awe. It was so strange to see her; A person who`s music has meant so much for many. She was kind and gentle, just as I had imagined it, and she truly cared about her fans. She asked questions, listened, and answered when the other girls wanted to express their enthusiasm. I think she talked with us in about 15 minutes, and we also were lucky enough to be included in pictures. I stood behind her when we lined, which she noticed. She actually pulled me closer to the others, so that I stood next to her and another girl. Her hand rested on mine and another girls shoulder, and my hand on hers. I was not sure how to hold it, afraid it would be to heavy and would feel invasive. It felt unreal, and it felt amazing. 
  • 2013-11-15 23.15.10
    Me, very tiny, behind my Norwegian “Idol”

    2013-11-15 23.11.07
    An empathic Maria Mena talks to two medical students
Your thoughts matter:

