The sound of an unquiet mind

Posted on Updated on

unq

I recommend the book “an unquiet mind” by Jamison.

There are different opinions on the book. A lot praise it, and some find it`s not nuanced enough.

“I don’t consider you an authority on bipolar or mental illness or it’s treatments. You are certainly not an expert on my suffering nor the treatments I used to cure it. You’ve spent your whole post graduate life informing others of what mental illness is and how it’s supposed to be treated. Blissfully unaware that your preferred treatment drove me to within an inch of taking my own life. Yes, you read that correctly. Lithium made me want to kill myself—because of how awful it was”

 “Until reading this book, I didn’t truly comprehend the complexity of the condition. It’s hard for anyone who hasn’t experienced the true highs of mania and the utterly despairing lows of depression to get it, I think at least. And when we do see or hear about someone experiencing bipolar, it’s often on television or the radio and it’s often sensationalized. I think Silver Linings Playbook did a pretty good job, but not a perfect one.” AnUnquiet Mind, A Memoir of Moods & Madness

 

 

http://thebipolarproject.wordpress.com/2011/11/26/an-unquiet-mind-why-i-wouldnt-recommend-it/

Your thoughts matter:

