The sound of boots made for walking

Posted on Updated on

 nppts

maxresdefault.jpg

Some norwegians are born with skis on their feet, but not me. I partly blame it on my German heritage, but also on my personality. I was never one to do what everyone else did, and I`m still a snow-rebel. From what I`ve heard (like today, when my colleague watched my face  in fascination as it contorted in every possible grimace after eating my pomegranate, which is almost impossible for me due to my tryphophobia ) I`m still far away from the circle of normality, but I honestly don`t mind.The earth is now dangerously close to overpopulation, so normality will be the last thing on our minds in the future. There are probably so many versions of weird right now that we should sing hallelujah every day the sun rises again.

Not that I`m worried: More people means more ideas that can save us. But back to my lack of enthusiasm of ski and snow and mountains (I`ve always liked the sea most. Mountains are beautiful, but slightly “Look How BIG i AMish“).

I was never comfortable with skiing, but I do like my boots and heels. I can`t travel without them, and I also buy new ones abroad. My boots are never ordinary, and they are always handmade. They are sewn with love, compassion and faith and never wear out. They stop in cities of broken promises, walk over broken bridges and jump into rivers of peril. No matter how wet they get, or how fast I run, they keep my feet comfortable and ready for new adventures.

 I, like most people, love to travel. I have been in many countries, but I`m the most satisfied traveller when I sit in my office or with a friend and listen to their story. When I walk in their shoes, the true journey begins. I soon realized its not the miles we walk, or where we go, that matters. It`s the journey.


 Last year I was in London. I walked together with a friend of me, who also went to the same Kilroy group-trip as me. When walking the streets of London, I almost had to run to catch up with him, and I commented on this every now and again (he probably listened just to keep my mouth shut). Some weeks later he told me he now walked differently than before. He actually looked around when heading from A to C, and a month later he quit his job, went travelling, and found the love of his life. My life has also been a trip, although not always pleasant. But I don`t mind, since I got my boots, and I`ve never been surer: These boots are made for walking.

 

Mission in Life

Protected: The sound of breaking mirrors

Wandering Pingbacks

  1. Be a Hero | Rima Hassan
  2. California: a fat wave* of options | Andrea Reads America
  3. Daily Prompt: The Happy Wanderer-How an Introvert Travel (pics) | Journeyman
  4. Daily Prompt: The Happy Wanderer | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah
  5. The Happy Wanderer: My Travel Style #DailyPost | The Wayfaring Family
  6. Travel Style | From Journo-baby to Journo-babe
  7. Daily Prompt: The Happy Wanderer | The WordPress C(h)ronicle
  8. The Unhappy Wanderer | Mara Eastern’s Personal Blog
  9. DP Daily Prompt: The Happy Wanderer | Sabethville
  10. How to Get a Green Card: A Lesson in Planning and Letting Go | Kosher Adobo
  11. There’s Nothing There & Professor Hamilton’s Advice To Writers | The Jittery Goat
  12. I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  13. love-hate | yi-ching lin photography
  14. Daily Prompt: The Happy Wanderer’s | My Outlook on the World
  15. I love airports | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project”
  16. An Uncommercial Traveller | The Ambitious Drifter
  17. Just following the sun… | Hope* the happy hugger
  18. What Sue wrote – wandering happily | Sue’s Trifles
  19. The wandering traveler: Can’t wait to catch my multiple personalities in the rear-view mirror « psychologistmimi
  20. The Happy Wanderer | Eyes to Heart
  21. Daily Prompt: The Happy Wanderer | Under the Monkey Tree
  22. Spontaneous: Daily Prompt | ALIEN AURA’S BlOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  23. Daily Prompt-Happy Traveler-Not So Much | A Day In The Life
  24. Daily Prompt: My Travel Style | Pinstripes&Lipgloss
  25. The Happy Wanderer I am not | Jennifer Paige
  26. Daily Prompt: The Happy Wanderer | wisskko’s blog
  27. Traveling Into The Unknown | Lifestyle | WANGSGARD
  28. The Wondering Wanderer ::E.N.Howie’s Motivational Moments
  29. Wanderlust | Bardo
  30. “The Happy Wanderer” | Relax
  31. Minutely Infinite | Wanderers
  32. The Happy Wanderer | Life Confusions
  33. The Happy Wanderer | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real
  34. The Happy Wanderer | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  35. lord I was born a ramblin’ man | eastelmhurst.a.go.go
  36. The Happy Wanderer | Roving Bess
  37. Ramblin’ Rose | by L. D. Rose
  38. Getting Away | Flowers and Breezes
  39. Alone, I miss out on wonder | Emotional Fitness
  40. Two white girls on a minibus | Lesie’s World
  41. Wandering Together. | Kota and Coffee
  42. A Change in Direction | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  43. A Peace Walk | U Be Cute – Follow the child inside of you…
  44. The Happy Wanderer on a Schedule | 20/20 Hines Sight
  45. How to Vacation Effectively | melissuhhsmiles
  46. Happy Wanderings? | Live, Love, Laugh, Dance, Pray
  47. Pain Tolerance Matters More Than Happiness | Parents Are People Too
  48. Daily Prompt: The Happy Wanderer | The Daily Post | MetaRead360 Small Press presents
  49. Travelling – Daily Prompt: The Happy Wanderer | MetaRead360 Small Press presents
  50. Wandering | Blue Loft
  51. Through The Woods | Knowledge Addiction
  52. Daily Challenge: Travel Habits | MTEagles
  53. The road least traveled | Unlocking The Inner Creative
  54. Unforgettable Past – ITARSI – The Escapade! | Views Splash!
  55. Stages one through six, more or less, to the Happy Wanderer Mode. | thoughtsofrkh
  56. Daily Prompt : Somewhere Over The Rainbow | Just Visiting This Planet
  57. Namma Chennai to Amchi Mumbai | Outreach
  58. Daily Prompt: The Happy Wanderer | RedWhiteandSparkling
  59. Happy Wanderer | EntwinedLife
  60. B.Kaotic
  61. To understand where someone is coming from it helps to travel down their road | Institute for Hispanic Health Equity
4 thoughts on “The sound of boots made for walking

    ashokbhatia said:
    November 11, 2014 at 11:14

    It is a rare quality – to be able to put yourself in another person’s shoes/sandals!

    deWriterMD said:
    November 11, 2014 at 17:05

    Thanks for connecting with my blog…please feel free to share your posted there too!

    awax1217 said:
    November 17, 2014 at 11:41

    Read the post and liked it. May you go many places and see many things.

    The sound of running « Mirrorgirl said:
    May 1, 2016 at 12:25

    […] The sound of boots made for walking […]

Your thoughts matter:

