Writing a book: My life as a psychologist

Posted on Updated on

This year I have been working on my very own book. it will be a collection of the blog posts that I`ve written so far, and I need your help to choose which posts I shall include or not. You can either contact me with recommendations (forfreepsychology@gmail.com) or comment on this post. I also need someone to proof read the book after it`s done, and will pay the person willing to do so. Let me know if you are interested!

images-14

12 thoughts on “Writing a book: My life as a psychologist

    ashokbhatia said:
    January 13, 2015 at 12:59

    All the best!

      mirrorgirl responded:
      January 13, 2015 at 17:40

      Thank you! Any thoughts about what I should include?

        ashokbhatia said:
        January 14, 2015 at 02:39

        Depends on the overall theme of the book. Perhaps a summary of some of the successful cases you handled, the way you helped them to recover through your therapy and your observations how to retain one’s mental balance in our times, especially in view of the internet addiction?

        mirrorgirl responded:
        January 14, 2015 at 05:59

        That was a good idea! I thought about starting with my own story, with posts from the “here and now” interwoven with my narrative. I could also write about treatment, especially in more general terms to be sure I don`t write anything that can identify clients. But many of them have much in common, so I can still write about how I work with different issues, focussing on issues we all can have, and giving practical advice how to handle them.

        ashokbhatia said:
        January 14, 2015 at 09:26

        Yes, clients’ privacy can and must be protected. Some interesting books I had come across pertained to past and future regression therapies, by Dr Brian L Weiss who, I thought, had struck the right note!

        mirrorgirl responded:
        January 14, 2015 at 11:15

        Thank you for the recommendation! I try to read everything I can from therapists, and have some Authors I really love, like Yalom and Viktor Frankl. I can also recommend “the shrink rap” and “falling into the fire”

    Cat said:
    January 13, 2015 at 14:17

    The most recent posts I particularly liked were ‘sound of knocking on hell’s door’, ‘Epistemic trust’ and ‘DID’.

      mirrorgirl responded:
      January 13, 2015 at 17:40

      Thank you! I want the book to be a mix of my password protected posts and also the best posts about trauma and treatment.

        Cat said:
        January 13, 2015 at 19:46

        I don’t know if I’ve ever seen the protected posts.

        mirrorgirl responded:
        January 13, 2015 at 22:10

        of you send me an email, you can get the password 🙂 forfreepsychology@gmail.com

    mentalpoliticalparent said:
    January 13, 2015 at 17:08

    Hello

    I have to disagree with Cat’s comment above, please don’t include any of your DID posts in your planned book as they’re terribly inaccurate. Aside from all the posts you reblogged from my blog (without permission), of course, they’re accurate but belong to me.

      mirrorgirl responded:
      January 13, 2015 at 17:39

      I am sorry if I haven`t posted anything you like. I don`t understand everything about wordpress, but thought people got a notification when you reblog something. If you like, I can delete those posts. I would also like to know about inaccuracies, as I want posts to be as accurate as possible. Thank you for the comment!

Your thoughts matter:

