The richest country in the world

Posted on Updated on

It has been a wonderful day. It started far too early, when I went to work to attend the first meeting in the morning. I had one conversation with a patient, and then two other meetings and a long lunch with my collages. In between meetings I did some writing that needed to be done, and then I was finally ready for the weekend. 15:30 I drove to a friend who wanted to borrow some clothes, and talked with her for a bit. I then went home for a quick dinner and some relaxation.

I enjoyed myself with “the body keeps the score”, a brilliant book that I probably will reread many times since it`s packed with tips and knowledge.It is like a coffin filled with gold.

Feeling richer from listening to the audiobook, I drove to one of my best friends to watch “The voice”. We talked before the show, and under it. After a while another friend came, and her boyfriend, and we all had a good evening. We tried to plan what we should do together tomorrow, as there will be a big party with events during the day too. I will go to the library, pick up the new bike I have bought, and then go to the city centre for free concerts. Later I will prepare for the night and meet one of the girls who will join me in the show choir “surround”. She is a mother of two, and needs to do something else for a change. Like me, she works with trauma, and has a hectic life. We will drink some wine, sing and then join my other friends afterwards.

It has been a really good week, and I know tomorrow will be great, too. I feel so lucky, and struggle with not feeling bad about it. Like always, I wonder if I deserve it. I have so many fantastic people around me, the best job in the world, and the chance to do whatever I want. I have finally started taking singing and piano lessons, and can now dedicate myself to music like I always wanted. My heart reaches out to all the people out there who have so little in comparison. Why did I win the lottery by being born in one of the riches countries in the world, where we have every opportunity, while others are born into countries with war and poverty? I try to remember that I have suffered, too,  and that I will help others for as long as I live. That relieves some of the guilt, but it`s still there.

To all my readers: I hope you have the same chance to lead a meaningful life as me. And if you aren`t quite there yet, that you can somehow change your circumstances and fight for the life you want.

Picture credit

8 thoughts on “The richest country in the world

    awax1217 said:
    June 5, 2015 at 21:46

    I am from America where things are a way of life. We indulge to much and then cast things aside. Yet we have hungry children and needs not met. I try to get my grandchildren to understand that point.

      mirrorgirl responded:
      June 5, 2015 at 21:47

      I am so glad that you try to do that. We need empathic people more now than ever!

        awax1217 said:
        June 5, 2015 at 21:51

        Just note my blog today. Yesterday I was off line with a cardiac situation. Went to hospital and got through it. If I die I will let you know.

        mirrorgirl responded:
        June 5, 2015 at 21:53

        Oh NO!!! That is terrible! Hope you get through it. You must take care of yourself, I hope the doctors do everything they can!

        awax1217 said:
        June 5, 2015 at 21:57

        It is now a day later and being stubborn I am back at regular life. blogging with you and others, writting, going to work tomorrow at the Lego Land Hotel. I am a bellhop. Love it. I figure if I die let it be with a smile on my face. Thanks for your concern.

        mirrorgirl responded:
        June 5, 2015 at 22:01

        I am so glad! But remember to take care of yourself. Eat healthy, get some exercise and do things you like. That is good for body and mind:)

        awax1217 said:
        June 5, 2015 at 22:18

        I am a bell hop and exercise is a done deal. Eating healthy is under my wife’s domain. Low sugar and salt. No soda, beer or wine. Humas and rice cakes. Lots of fish. I do what I like, blogging, collecting baseball cards and being with the wife. Good life, good kids, great grandkids. Paying the bills and living the good life.

    Let us change the world « Mirrorgirl said:
    June 5, 2015 at 23:28

    […] themes are war, unemployment, hunger, extreme weather and people dying of different diseases. I am lucky, and live in one of the wealthiest countries in the world. In rankings, Norway are number 2 when it comes to overall happiness, only surpassed […]

Your thoughts matter:

