Reprogramming my inner computer 

Posted on

Our mind is a wonderful mystery. We still know so little about it, even if we slowly are starting to reveal its secrets. Normally it works effectively, like a brand new computer, but sometimes it stops working. In a computer, programming mistakes slow an a otherwise perfect system. When that happens, the programmer must find the mistake and fix it. When he does, the computer must be left in peace. The programmer must focus must be on one issue at a time. If the programmer is exhausted, it will take longer time before he can do his job. 

Our body is a fine-tune system perfected through evolution. When something goes wrong, we notice it immediately. Genetic abnormalities or disarray in the brain can manifest itself in many forms. When our body produce problems for us, we try to fix it. Sometimes we manage to do this by ourselves, by doing things that are good for our body. By sleeping, eating healthy, talk with others or listen to music, we give ourselves space and time to let the body get rest so it can work like it always does, on reclaiming the balance it needs. Sometimes we can’t do so on our own, however. Sometimes we need our own programmers, with an intimate knowledge of what makes us tick.

 Unfortunately we can’t find that help like frustrated computer-users can. There is no phonebook with numbers directing us to a competent healer, that will solve all our issues. There is only trial and error, meeting different people and experiencing different things that can help us in the long run. 
I have worked as a psychologist for 4,5 years now. When I try to contemplate the fact that I’ve worked for so long, it’s almost incomprehensible. In this process my mind has usually managed to fix itself. When I’ve been sad, angry or helpless, I’ve dealt with those feelings and come out of it stronger. I’ve found and trusted helpers that pull me up if I’ve made mistakes. But sometimes my stubbornness has gotten the best of me, and I’ve not taken the time to reboot my overactive system because I thought I could fix everything myself. Even if I know my mind better than anyone else, I have parts of it that I don’t know as well too. When those parts start to give me trouble, I need to trust the expertise of others. After all, computers can’t fix themselves if something goes wrong. 
I’m lucky to always have competent and intelligent people around me who guide me when I’m too certain of my own infallibility. When my mirror neurons are overloaded after too much emphatic work, I have others who see me and inform me that I need to take a break. A break for me might be completely different from somebody else’s break. For me, the break will consist of a lot of alone-time where I can write, read, sing and think. With three weeks holiday in front of me, I will have just that now. I will upgrade my inner computer so that it is ready for more work later. 

So, don’t forget to reboot your own inner computer, or ask for help if you can’t fix it yourself. It will do you good.

  

4 thoughts on “Reprogramming my inner computer 

    Dave DuBay said:
    July 27, 2015 at 00:49

    This is a thought provoking piece. The computer analogy, of course, is approximate. People created computers trying to imitate the human mind, but no computer had yet to pass the Turing Test (a computer sophisticated enough to fool someone into thinking it’s human).

    If only counseling were so simple as a psychologist correcting the wayward algorithm. But the human mind is so much more complex.

    Computers are based on binary code, 1 or 0, electricity on or off, chunked in groups of 8. But the human mind contains so many multi-faceted interconnections, not to mention myriad interactions with the external environment and other people, that a computer’s dichotomy of 1 or 0 cannot pass for human.

    For example, people create art, but computers don’t. How art and other forms of self-expression relate to well-being (and may help in therapy), is another question wide open for exploration.

      mirrorgirl responded:
      July 27, 2015 at 13:26

      Thank you for a comment that ignited new thoughts in me (I am working on a new blog post right now where I try to explain a theory I have about the brain and EMDR). Am also trying to read a book about computers, and to understand the Turing test. Your explanation helped a lot!

        Dave DuBay said:
        July 27, 2015 at 22:01

        Have you seen the movie about Turing (Imitation Game)? It’s a great drama, sad in many ways, makes me glad for the social progress we’ve seen in recent decades.

    SDR said:
    July 31, 2015 at 14:19

    Reblogged this on A Spoonful of Stars.

Your thoughts matter:

