The sound of crawling out of a black hole

Posted on

thCA6KJ3YV

Recently, I wrote about a book called “Emotional Blackmail” by Susan Forward. At the end of the book, she writes about traps people fall into, that makes us vulnerable when dealing with difficult relationships. One of those traps, is the fear of falling into a “black hole” of loneliness and unhappiness. Forward describes this as a normal reaction that many can have, the fear is often worse than reality, but this fear can be so powerful that people stay in unhealthy relationships or situations. She has a concrete tip on how to handle those insecure feelings. First, she sits there with the patient and ask them to go “into” the black hole in their thoughts. While there, feeling vulnerable and like life never will be okay again, she asks the client to bring forward a good memory. In the book, a woman who is afraid of loosing her husband even if she wants a divorce herself, tells Susan that she feels so alone and afraid that she never will have anyone around her again. Forward then asks her to come up with a positive memory, and to think about what makes her happy in her day to day life. For this patient, a memory of when she was a child and got a horse, comes up. Susan asks her to remember this memory, and the patient immediately feels better and stronger. In this more positive mood, it is easier for her to remember other good things: She has friends, family and pleasurable interests, and she realizes that she can feel afraid and helpless, and still be able to get out of that feeling by thinking about happy memories and what she has today.

 

When reading that paragraph, I remember a dream I had many years ago. It started as a nightmare. I didn`t know where to go, and felt completely disoriented. I was trying to find my way back after walking in the mountains, but everything looked unfamiliar. I kept on walking, with panic growing inside. Suddenly, I followed a path that lead my to the most beautiful waterfall I`ve ever seen. It was surrounded by a tranquil space that made me cry because it was so wonderful. I felt completely safe and protected, and when I woke, the afterimage of this beautiful place, was still there. I can still feel relaxed and reassured when I think about this place, because it reminds me of beauty in the most difficult of circumstances. Whenever I feel down, I can bring that memory back, and it reminds me that sometimes, you just need to walk for a bit longer, and you will find something that takes your breath away and makes you happy.

So, are you afraid of falling into a black hole you can`t get out of? And do you have happy memories or good things in your life that you can bring forward if you feel alone and helpless?

6 thoughts on “The sound of crawling out of a black hole

    Anthony Turi said:
    December 15, 2015 at 11:03

    Thank you very much for this. I read this on a difficult day for me, so it was good to read these words. I appreciate it. x

      mirrorgirl responded:
      December 15, 2015 at 11:04

      I am sad to hear that it has been a difficult day, but know you are able to crawl out of whatever hole you should get into!!

        Anthony Turi said:
        December 15, 2015 at 11:09

        Reading your words was serendipitous. I will try to remember this post.

        mirrorgirl responded:
        December 15, 2015 at 11:17

        Strange that you would say that, since I am just writing a post about “big magic”, a book that made me remember that there are so many coincidences in this world, and that we need to grab them when they do appear. Have a wonderful day!

        Anthony Turi said:
        December 15, 2015 at 11:18

        Thank you. Sending good wishes to you and all your readers.

    Mirrorgirl said:
    February 18, 2016 at 21:45

    […] Listen to what your heart and mind tries to tell you  Magic […]

Your thoughts matter:

